LiftMaster opener problem

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-28-11, 02:53 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
LiftMaster opener problem

I have a LiftMaster professional model 2265-267. Circuit board 41A5483.

The problem is very intermittent. Sometimes when opening or closing it just STOPS. It stops like someone pulled the power chord. It has done it at all heights. Sometimes it will stop only once or maybe 3 or 4 times while opening or closing. Sometimes it will open and close fine without any problems. When it happens I just have to keep hitting the opener until it works again. It has this problem with all of the remotes.

Could this need a new board?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-28-11, 04:17 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 212
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There is a possibility it is the board. I would pull it and check for burnt or missing traces on the printed circuit. If you have had electrical storms this is fairly common. I would also remove the cover from the motor unit and check the drive gear. It could be going bad and it will be obvious if it is. Normally white sawdust all over.
 
  #3  
Old 06-28-11, 07:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I pulled the board and checked carefully for burnt or missing traces. It looked good. The gears looked great too. No dust. Is it possible that the board is still bad? I didn't see any loose connections while I was looking.
Thanks
 
  #4  
Old 06-29-11, 02:25 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Indiana
Posts: 128
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If it is the new type with 2 circuit boards (power supply & relays on one and everything else on the other) check the solder joints on the connectors that go from one board to the other.
If it is the single board check the solder joints on the transformer, you might resolder the transformer any way some times the cracks are too small to see (or my eyes are too old to see )
 
  #5  
Old 06-29-11, 02:29 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 212
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There is a possibility a part on the board is starting to fail. Try increasing the up and down force adjustments. These controls are on the rear of the motor unit. It just may be that they were set at minimum when everything was new and now that things are aging it needs a little more oompff.
 
  #6  
Old 07-03-11, 09:59 PM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I had a similar problem about 10 yrs. ago. It was the logic board that needed replaced. Sorry I don't recall what it cost.
 
  #7  
Old 07-10-11, 03:24 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I replaced the board and it fixed the problem
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: