Genie Chain Glide SAFE-T-BEAM problem

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-15-11, 11:53 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Smile Genie Chain Glide SAFE-T-BEAM problem

My opener goes up with no problem but going down it will go about 3 inches and stop and some times goes back up. I called Genie and we found out the SAFE-T-BEAM system has a problem. When the STB is disconnected I can hold the button and the door will close but it has to be held till it gets to the floor and it will not work with a remote. The remote only opens the door. My question is can this STB system be bypassed? I know it is a safety feature but I am the only one who uses it and there are no kids around.
 
  #2  
Old 10-15-11, 12:16 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,112
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
No...it can't be bypassed. Several posters have tried and the circuitry just won't allow it.

New sensors aren't that expensive, but first, make sure the eyes are very clean and accurately aligned.

Have you tried putting them very close together, just to check?
 
  #3  
Old 10-15-11, 01:37 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No I haven't tried putting them close together but will try it. I thought if the red and green light were not blinking that it was aligned properly. I'll also make sure the lenses are clean. Thanks for the reply.
 
  #4  
Old 10-15-11, 01:44 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,112
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
Thats true per the manual. It could be that the logic board inside the unit is bad.
 
  #5  
Old 10-15-11, 07:15 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I cleaned the lenses off real good and placed the sensors 5 inches apart and the door went up just fine but when I started it back down at went about 3 inches and stopped, it wouldn't go down. I had to unwire one of the sensors then hold the button till the door was all the way down so nothing changed. Genie said Home Depot has those sensors so I'll have to go get a set and try that. I was thinking that if the door will go up and down holding the button with the sensors disconnected wouldn't that indicate the board you mentioned inside the unit is good?
 
  #6  
Old 10-16-11, 06:06 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,112
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
No...not really. The door going down by holding the button is the default mode. Because you have to be standing right there watching for hazards, it allows you to do that. If there is an internal fault on the board where it thinks there is a blockage (though the sensor LEDs are showing correctly) it goes to that fault mode.

I've seen more than a few threads here that have the exact same problem. The folks that didn't wind up getting a new GDO usually replaced the sensors and then the logic board for a fix.

Ummm....I assume since you called Genie they went though the typical steps. Release the door, check operation of door by hand, adjust down force etc?

You never said anything about the lights flashing on the opener. It should do that if it's getting a blocked signal I believe.
 
  #7  
Old 10-16-11, 05:48 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Genie did have me adjust the down force and that didn't work. I assume the lights you are talking about are on the sensors at the bottom of the door. One red and one green. They both shine steady when the door isn't in use and if you block the beam one flashes, the red one as I recall. I don't get any codes or signals from the lights except for when the beam is blocked. I suppose instead of getting the new sensors I should get a new logic board.
 
  #8  
Old 10-16-11, 06:57 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,112
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
Actually I meant the light on the opener. Most flash 5 or 10 times when it detects a valid blockage from the eyes.

The Genie help desk is better than most...I'd probably go with what they said you need.
 
  #9  
Old 10-16-11, 08:47 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The only light on my opener is the one that lights up the room and I have never seen it blink. When this thing first started acting up it would stop at about 1 foot from the floor then start back up. it did that for a while then it started stopping 3 times on the way down before it would close and now it just goes the 3 inches and goes back up. What ever the problem is it seemed to keep getting worse. It has been running a little over 5 years. Do you know what the average life span is of a GDO?
 
  #10  
Old 10-17-11, 01:29 AM
BridgeMan45's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3,194
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Let me guess--slightly less than the age of yours???

Seriously, though, I've owned a few Genies over the years, and they were always quite dependable and easy to work with. Sorry, I know that's not much help. I would hope they'd be good for more than just 5 years of use. Planned obsolescence, maybe?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: