Door Header for Post and Beam Barn?

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-05-12, 01:28 PM
D
doc
doc is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Indiana
Posts: 404
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Door Header for Post and Beam Barn?

I'm putting an exterior prehung door on my barn. The barn is post and beam (at least that's what I think it's called). The "door" that's in there now amounts to a few planks of wood with hinges and a latch so there's no header - I assume because there's no downward load there. Do I need to put a header in before I install the door?
 
  #2  
Old 01-05-12, 06:47 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,964
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
"Header" probably not, but you will need to put some lumber in there to frame out the door and to nail siding/molding to. In such an instance, you could install interlocking 2x lumber on the sides and top, spreading the top plate between supports. Of course we can't see what the framing looks like, so "post and beam" it is.
 
  #3  
Old 01-06-12, 04:56 AM
D
doc
doc is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Indiana
Posts: 404
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yeah, my description isn't great. I'll take a pic or two this weekend and try to post.
 
  #4  
Old 01-06-12, 03:10 PM
D
doc
doc is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Indiana
Posts: 404
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Chandler -

I just reread your post. The opening is framed - with 10 inch posts on both sides. The beam is about 8 feet or so high but no "header'. So the rough opening is already there - minus the header. The current door is basically a shed door - 1X8 boards with cross pieces hung on hinges. I guess I needed to know if the top of the new door frame would need something to nail into. I'll still see if I can post a pic or two this weekend. Thanks so far.
 
  #5  
Old 01-07-12, 08:02 AM
D
doc
doc is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Indiana
Posts: 404
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I've provided a link to some pictures I took of the rough opening for the barn door.

The posts are 8" X 8". As I hope you can see, there are two 2Xs toe nailed at 80" with a space inbetween. If I'm going to use a standard door I think I'm going to have to cut out 2" or so to provide enough headroom for the new door.

https://plus.google.com/?tab=qX&gpca...01917041959266

Let me know if my description makes sense and you can tell what's going on from the pictures.
 

Last edited by doc; 01-07-12 at 08:23 AM. Reason: mistake
  #6  
Old 01-07-12, 08:41 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,964
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Can't access the pics, but your description is correct. You need 81 1/2" from the floor to the "header". You didn't say what the spacing was from post to post (width).
 
  #7  
Old 01-07-12, 10:27 AM
D
doc
doc is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Indiana
Posts: 404
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Huhm - sorry about the pics. The spacing between the posts is 38 1/2".

I'll work on the pics.
 
  #8  
Old 01-07-12, 10:33 AM
D
doc
doc is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Indiana
Posts: 404
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
  #9  
Old 01-07-12, 04:11 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,964
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Width will be right for a 36" door. If all you have is 80", based on the construction, I would consider trimming the bottom of the door. Will you be using a factory door, in frame, with threshold? If so, then go back to plan 1 and make the opening 81 1/2" high.
 
  #10  
Old 01-07-12, 05:15 PM
D
doc
doc is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Indiana
Posts: 404
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, I was hoping to use a factory door with threshold without trimming it. I think I can cut the 2Xs and the siding to make room height-wise. I've been thinking I could fill in between the two 2Xs with additional 2Xs.
 
  #11  
Old 01-08-12, 05:00 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,964
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Yes, you can fill in to make a solid "header". Don't forget to flash over the door to prevent water infiltration.
 
  #12  
Old 01-08-12, 07:43 AM
D
doc
doc is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Indiana
Posts: 404
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I hadn't thought about flashing- thanks!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: