Programming a Sears garage door opener w/learn button and LED


  #1  
Old 07-23-12, 12:34 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Programming a Sears garage door opener w/learn button and LED

Have a Sears GDO with a learn button and red LED. How do you program it to DIP switch transmitters.
Have pressed and held learn button on opener and red LED next to it lights. Pressed button again and pressed transmitter. LED goes out as it recognizes transmitter.
Pressing transmitter button again does nothing.
Also tried pressing learn button and transmitter button simultaneously but still won't activate opener. One time the GDO ran when I repeated above steps but just for about one second. What is the method to learn a transmitter?
 
  #2  
Old 07-23-12, 12:36 PM
S
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,630
Received 98 Votes on 86 Posts
Do you have the manual for the operator? Typically, the process is to press the learn button, press the remote's button and then maybe the learn button again (though it also may go off on its own).

That said, is this a rolling code operator? I'm not certain it will work with a DIP remote.
 
  #3  
Old 07-23-12, 12:38 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,112
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
What remote do you have? If it doesn't say it will work with rolling code GDOs...then you need a new remote.

The newer universal remotes will work with either learn button or dip switch openers. Normally you set the switches to match the opener you have....press the learn on the opener...then press the buttons on the remote as needed.
 
  #4  
Old 07-24-12, 07:08 AM
F
Member
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 212
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The best way to get everyone on the same page is to furnish model numbers.
 
  #5  
Old 08-04-12, 10:50 AM
rush66's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The Sears opener with Red Learn program button is a 390MHz Security+ receiver while the remote (if it's a 61 series model) is a 390MHz fixed frequency. The remote should program into the unit BUT you can't mix the 61 series remote with Security + type of remote. You can program one type or the other but not both.

First clear out the memory of the receiver...hold down the program button for about 10 seconds. This will clear out all remotes or keyless entry that is programmed into it. Next, press & RELEASE the program button then press & HOLD the remote button. The LED light next to the program button should flicker & go out when it learns the code.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: