Going to finish garage- have a few framing type questions

Old 03-01-14, 05:11 AM
P
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Going to finish garage- have a few framing type questions

First of all hello, I have been reading the boards for years, but just recently made an account and this is my first post. Here is the project:

I have a 750 SF detached garage that I want to finish out as a man cave/ getaway/ hangout spot. Nothing crazy fancy going in out there just a place to lounge, a pool table, projector screen etc. I want it to be a place that I can go to think/work, hang out with friends when the wife is sleeping (she is an RN with crazy hours), and also a place for some middle and high schoolers to hang out (I am a student pastor).

I have done an extensive amount of remodeling to the two houses we have lived in so I have a pretty good understanding of the project, and the garage is pretty much a clean slate. That is where I have my question, in regards to the walls. The garage is completely unfinished right now, just studs other than one area of peg board. The walls are 2x4 studs 16" OC sitting on one course of block above ground level. I have plywood siding (the kind that looks like vertical boards) attached directly to the 2x4's, no OSB, plywood, housewrap, etc. With all of that said my question is this: should I insulate the current 2x4 wall cavities and Sheetrock directly to those 2x4's or frame up a secondary wall (which would also then bring me flush with the edge of the block, right now there is a 4" recess) and insulate and finish that?

Old 03-01-14, 07:05 AM
Group Moderator
Received 1,948 Upvotes on 1,748 Posts