Liftmaster 2280R won't learn..

Old 01-01-16, 05:04 PM
B
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Liftmaster 2280R won't learn..

Hi all-
I have a Liftmaster 2280R which has worked great for many years. Recently needed to add a remote. Press the Learn button, and the learn/diagnostic LED above it that is supposed to light up does not, and it will not learn the remote.

- This is a remote that has worked in the past, and regardless, the type of remote should not prevent the learn LED from coming on
- Other remotes continue to work fine
- The learn LED flickers when I used the other remotes, which I think is normal
- The learn LED flashes trouble codes when the door is obstructed, which is normal per the manual.

The learn LED just won't light up when I press the Learn button. The Learn button makes a normal-sounding mechanical "click" when pressed.

I have programmed remotes in the past, this is new behavior.

I tried unplugging the opener for about 15 minutes then re-powering, no change.

Everything else on the opener seems to work fine.

Thoughts? Do I need a new logic board? Am I missing something?

thanks!
Bob

Old 01-01-16, 05:10 PM
P
Temporarily Suspended
Maybe the learn light is bad. Did you try to continue the process as if the learn light worked?

Old 01-01-16, 05:13 PM
B
I did, no joy. And per my post, the light works under other conditions.
thx
Bob

PS: To be clear, there's only one LED. I've seen it called the learn LED and the manual calls it the diagnostic LED.
thx
Bob

Old 01-02-16, 10:09 AM
B
Talked to Liftmaster..