Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Exterior Improvement Center > Garages, Garage Door Openers, Work Shops & Sheds, Breezeways and Carports
Reload this Page >

Garage door opener sometime goes past up limit and become stuck on stop bolt.

Garage door opener sometime goes past up limit and become stuck on stop bolt.

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-18-16, 09:51 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Garage door opener sometime goes past up limit and become stuck on stop bolt.

I have a craftsman garage door opener model # 139.53635srt. Sometimes when the door opens it goes past the up limit and hits the stop bolt - when that happens I have to release the tension in the chain and only then will it move again.

I am hoping this would a simple parts replacement but not sure where to begin. Here's a few pictures of the inside. Looks like the plastic nylon gears are grinding.

Thanks

Name:  Photo Jan 17, 4 42 10 PM.jpg
Views: 1000
Size:  27.0 KBName:  Photo Jan 17, 4 42 49 PM.jpg
Views: 1491
Size:  34.5 KBName:  Photo Jan 17, 4 43 03 PM.jpg
Views: 1176
Size:  38.4 KBName:  Photo Jan 17, 4 43 36 PM.jpg
Views: 1217
Size:  37.9 KBName:  Photo Jan 17, 4 43 47 PM.jpg
Views: 1154
Size:  40.5 KB
 
  #2  
Old 01-18-16, 11:05 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,398
Received 1,399 Votes on 1,296 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Well... you're in luck. It is a simple parts replacement job. Those white shavings inside the unit are from the worn out drive gears. There is a rebuild kit available that comes with all the needed parts and an easy to follow instruction sheet.

The kit is from Liftmaster and is part #41C4220A
It's available from many sources.

LIFTMASTER-Openers-41C4220A-Sprocket-Assembly/dp/B006L8CZKI
 
  #3  
Old 01-18-16, 02:53 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 577
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
While I certainly agree that the gears are worn and need replacement I'm not sure how that would cause the problem that the OP is having. It seems like there must be another problem causing the overshooting of the limit switch. I wonder if possibly just the dust from the worn gears could be interfering with the encoder counting the rotations. Maybe until he gets a chance to replace the gears he could just blow out all that dust and see that some of the original problem.
 
  #4  
Old 01-18-16, 03:55 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 2,101
Received 72 Votes on 65 Posts
I can't say exactly how it correlates, and I know that my memory is failing, but I'm almost certain that the overtravel the OP described is what tipped me to look at my mom's opener. Mom's been gone quite a few years, and it was who knows how long before she passed, but it started doing something that prompted her to tell me about it, and I'm pretty sure that was it. (You know how mom's are, "I don't need a thing", then something quits working properly. Op, you may need to adjust the travel and/or force on it once you replace the gear, but no sense messing with it yet as you're obviously getting a lot of skip right now, and that gear alone may solve your problem. I'm thinking mom's was made by Emerson, might be wrong, but, as PJ said, they're available. It was most likely pre-internet, but I know I bought two at the time, because one was still hanging on a nail in a joist when we sold the house.
 
  #5  
Old 01-20-16, 08:03 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for all the advice everyone. I ordered the replacement gear kit from Amazon and seen on youtube how the gears can be replaced. Looks pretty simple.

Anyways in my case since the gears are already worn and upon closer look, it seems that when the gears are not working in tandem the mechanism to trigger the stop is not actuated. So I'll try replacing these gears first and see how that goes.

Thanks!
 
  #6  
Old 01-20-16, 12:33 PM
G
Member
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hamilton County, Ohio
Posts: 4,295
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
If you can gain access to the limit switch, clean the contacts with electrical contact cleaner or a piece of fine emery or sand paper. Over the years, the contacts build up oxidation and dirt and fail to make positive contact every time.
 
  #7  
Old 01-20-16, 10:50 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,398
Received 1,399 Votes on 1,296 Posts
During the rebuild it's very easy to see the travel limit contacts. If needed.... contact cleaner would be ok. I don't think I'd sand them.

The two red arrows are the fixed contacts and the blue is the movable contact plate.
Name:  switches.jpg
Views: 902
Size:  25.0 KB

During the rebuild process you will be taking apart the encoder. Be sure that's clean too.
Name:  encoder.jpg
Views: 853
Size:  23.8 KB
 
  #8  
Old 02-11-16, 05:15 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Just to update... a couple of weeks ago I replaced the gears from the kit and the surgery went well And it was fun too!!

When I took it apart I also cleaned out the RPM sensor; it was cover with the plastic shaving from the gears.

The problem has not shown up again. But I will still clean the contacts that you mentioned. Can I just use WD40 or alcohol? Or do I go out an get the official contact cleaner?

Thanks for the help and guidance.

Here is what is it looks like now:
Name:  IMG_0340.jpg
Views: 909
Size:  40.0 KBName:  IMG_0341.jpg
Views: 811
Size:  35.6 KBName:  IMG_0339.jpg
Views: 880
Size:  42.0 KB
 
  #9  
Old 02-11-16, 05:28 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,495
Received 36 Votes on 28 Posts
I would not recommend WD-40 as it will collect dust and it eventually turns gummy.
 
  #10  
Old 02-13-16, 11:22 AM
D
Member
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 95
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Maybe not relevant in this case but this is common with Chamberlain OP's

Name:  IMG_0341.jpg
Views: 857
Size:  43.0 KB
 
  #11  
Old 02-14-16, 07:04 AM
D
Member
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Indiana
Posts: 133
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Cleaning the limit switch is often temporary. I would replace it.
It is the second most common part needed in these.
Just my $0.02.
 
  #12  
Old 02-14-16, 09:59 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,398
Received 1,399 Votes on 1,296 Posts
If the problem is gone..... don't do anything to the contacts.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: