Garage height

Old 04-12-01, 05:55 PM
Visiting Guest
I work in the auto industry as a product planner.. My question is. Is their minimum height requirement for a garage.

Sponsored Links
Old 04-12-01, 07:12 PM
Visiting Guest
Do you mean the door height?

The standard garage door height is 7 foot and it is rare that garage doors are built any lower. Be aware, though, that the call-out size of a seven foot door does not include trim, which lowers the actual height. Additionally, the angle of the driveway affects the height of the vehicle at entry.

6ft 8in is the standard (though not infallible) estimate of clearance.

Old 04-13-01, 06:28 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Mr. Hall is correct about the average height of a garage door being 7', however 8' doors are becoming increasingly more popular. This is due to the fact of SUV's and normal size pickups. They will fit into the 7' opening, however if they have any type of rack on top or antenna, problems arise. A 7' door requires a 8' wall, a 8' door requires a 9' wall. This allows room for the door headers. I have recently done two garages with 10 ft. doors for the tall 4 wheel drive pickups. Hope this gives you some food for thought.

Old 04-17-01, 03:30 PM
Visiting Guest