Chamberlain garage door opener motion sensor


  #1  
Old 11-03-16, 07:48 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 353
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Chamberlain garage door opener motion sensor

I just bought and installed a Chamberlain opener (WD832KEV) with a motion sensor on the wall console with the open button. When I bought it, I thought it would turn the lights on when I went into the garage. This would be very handy is it is an attached garage and I go in their frequently.

When I read the instructions it tells you how to turn the motion sensing on (which I did). But it says the lights will turn on when "someone enters through the garage door and the safety reversing sensor..is broken". This seems useless to me. Is that the only way the motion sensor will work?
 
  #2  
Old 11-03-16, 07:58 PM
G
Member
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hamilton County, Ohio
Posts: 4,295
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
The good old fine print will get you every time. You may be able to beat the system. Following instructions for setting up the light, try breaking the sensor beam with the door closed. If that works, you could consider paralleling a second set of sensors across your house to garage door.

Don't cheat and move the original sensors They are there for a reason.
 
  #3  
Old 11-04-16, 02:38 AM
Doorman2722's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 949
Received 26 Votes on 26 Posts
Liftmaster uses two different methods to activate the light. 1. a wall mounted control panel with a motion sensor built in. 2. you cross through the safety sensors with the door open and it will trigger the light to come on. Both can be enabled and disabled
 
  #4  
Old 11-04-16, 07:43 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 353
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I only see 1 set of directions in the manual. They are start with the light on and hold the light button for 10 seconds.

I definitely see the motion sensor on the wall, but it doesn't turn on the lights.
 
  #5  
Old 11-04-16, 09:51 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 353
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I got it working. There is a separate motion sensor switch. The manual doesn't really mention it other than in a diagram.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: