Garage Door Liftmaster issue. Please help.

Old 03-27-17, 06:20 AM
V
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Garage Door Liftmaster issue. Please help.

I have an Liftmaster 41A431506D (made in 1999) and it is giving me issues.

At first it wouldn't close fully, the door would basically reopen as soon as it hit the ground. I adjusted the chain as it seemed somewhat loose and adjusting the limit switches (down limit switch) did the trick. I opened closed a few times and it was fine.

Next day, the door wouldn't open and upon inspecting, I noticed:
- the trolley had pulled away and gone past the stop limit and alot closer to the stop bolt in the down position.
- instead of open, the door would continue trying to close, hit the max stop bolt and come back slightly, lights would ficker a few times.
- i tried adjusting the down limit switch to no avail.
- i opened the box and noticed that the limit switch blade was touching the down limit, and yet it was still not opening the door.
- the chain had become very very lose on one side and extremely tight on the other.
- i disconnected the chain which took a bit of work since it was stuck on the metal gear, removed the unit and noticed that the bushings on the metal gear were completely gone. the metal gear had play on it, it can move back and forth about half an inch in both directions. i also notice that since the metal gear and shaft has play, the limit switch small plastic gear is also not snug against the up and down limit switch gears.
- the transmitter and receiving sensors are fine.
- there are no mechanical obstruction in the door, rails, etc, as it opens and closes smoothly.

I did inspect the motherboard and it appears to be fine, with no obvious signs of loose or burnt components.

I am tempted to get one of the work gear kits and replace the top gear bushing and the plastic gear pieces, but I have a feeling that the limit switch control circuit maybe gone.