Dry wall on ceiling of Garage, adding extra beams for support.

Old 03-20-18, 05:08 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Dry wall on ceiling of Garage, adding extra beams for support.

Hello everyone, just have a few questions about adding support beams to my garage ceiling for dry wall. If you look at my picture there are 6 beams going front to back and only 1 beam going left to right. When I push on the center where the circular light is all the beams will flex. I know it is not strong enough to support drywall without sag. Is there a way to add beams front to back without purchasing the full length beam which is roughly 21.5' long? I am no expert on structural integrity. Could I sandwich lets say 2x4x10 pieces together to make the length? What is my best approach without breaking the bank? Thanks for the input.

Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
Old 03-20-18, 05:30 PM
Group Moderator
Received 283 Votes on 259 Posts
No. Not if you are trying to maintain your open span without the use of walls or columns.

From the looks of it, this is a hip roof, yes? The ceiling is quite poorly constructed as-is, and probably just needs to be replaced.. it's hard to say what you should do without knowing more about the roof construction, but for starters you probably need someone to size you a double or triple LVL that will replace your board that goes left to right. You will add wall framing (as a column) on the left and right walls to fully support it. Some areas require steel columns to support LVL' s.

Then you would add joists front to back that sit in joist hangers on each side of that LVL beam, that fasten to the sides of your rafters at the plate along with a hurricane tie to reinforce the connection against lateral movement.