Year 2000 garage door opener remote wont work in a 2006??

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-27-18, 09:23 AM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 333
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Year 2000 garage door opener remote wont work in a 2006??

I have a craftsman door opener from year 2000 why cant I use remote on the chamberlin from 2006 is it different coding/frequency etc ???

I thought these 2 brands are the same manufacturer? I believe the chamberlin is myq
 

Last edited by wantboost; 09-27-18 at 10:55 AM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-27-18, 06:00 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,202
Received 850 Votes on 796 Posts
There is no guessing. You'd need to post the model number from the old opener and the new one or the remote that won't work. I run into this problem constantly with peoples garage door openers. They get the wrong remotes and blame me when I can't program them. Many are year specific as frequencies change as well as coding methods.
 
  #3  
Old 09-27-18, 09:04 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 333
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Year 2000
41A5021-3E

2011
41ACO50-1M

my mistake its 2011 not 2006

390 and 315 correct ??
 
  #4  
Old 09-28-18, 02:27 AM
Doorman2722's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 909
Received 16 Votes on 16 Posts
one has an orange button and one has a purple button, so they are not compatible. An 893 MAX will program to both of those openers because the remote is programmable to be backwards compatible.
 
  #5  
Old 09-28-18, 05:04 AM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 333
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thankyou good to know . And which type of remote is used with the newer one ?

AND same goes for keypads. For both and newer one?
 
  #6  
Old 09-28-18, 02:11 PM
Doorman2722's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 909
Received 16 Votes on 16 Posts
893 max will work with the new one as well, 877 max keyless will work with all three as well but it will only program to one at a time, the 893max you can separately program each button to three different LM systems
 
  #7  
Old 09-28-18, 03:07 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 333
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So there's no keypad that will work for 2 different doors with 2 different freq
 
  #8  
Old 09-29-18, 03:29 AM
Doorman2722's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 909
Received 16 Votes on 16 Posts
not that I am aware of. If you had two alike openers with the same color program button, then yes you could program 1 keyless to two or more openers by using different pin's to open the doors
 
  #9  
Old 09-29-18, 06:52 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 333
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Will the purple style work with home link car buttons ??
 
  #10  
Old 10-03-18, 05:13 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 333
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Will the purple learn button work with home link car
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: