Garage door opens /closes variably

Old 11-02-18, 09:37 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Garage door opens /closes variably

I have a liftmaster 1/2 hp chain drive. Lately it has been opening or closing a variable distance from the set limits. The door moves freely when disengaged and manually operated. It is balanced. When it stops in the semi-open/closed positions, the light does not flash indicating an obstruction and it does not reverse direction. I have played with the force settings, but no luck.
Any ideas? Thank you!

Last edited by boonjh; 11-02-18 at 09:38 AM. Reason: Typo
Sponsored Links
Old 11-02-18, 09:52 AM
Could you possibly have some spider webs that affect what the sensors see? I had a problem when a leaf was caught in a spider web and fluttered into the beam when the wind/outside air disturbed it.

Dick

Old 11-02-18, 02:28 PM
Check the limit switch closest to the head of the door. Sometimes there's just enough shift in the door header that the piece of stiffener material, across the top of the door, that the opener attaches to will make contact with the limit switch as it passes by going up or down.

Old 11-02-18, 05:57 PM
If I understand correctly, I have different setup. My limit switches (and corresponding adjustment dials) are on the actual motor assembly. I do not have any switches by the door header.

Old 11-02-18, 06:15 PM
Dick,

My sensors appear clean. Wouldn’t one expect the overhead lights to flash, when these sensors “detect” something?

Is it possible that the actual motor is meating resistance pehaps in a bushing / bearing, or is just petering out, rather than some obstruction that would activate the force limiters?

Old 11-04-18, 04:04 AM
Received 11 Votes on 11 Posts
If very well could be the plastic drive gear is failing or the bushing just under the drive sprocket is worn (does your chain look loose) the bushing wears out, the shaft tips forward which sometimes makes a gear loose contact with the limits.

Old 12-24-18, 02:51 PM