Need carport ideas

Old 11-11-18, 12:24 PM
Need carport ideas

I need brainstorming assistance for a semi-closed carport I would like to build. I have never done one before. My first decision: I recently paved the driveway and the edge of the driveway is 24ft away from the house. I have trouble deciding whether to put the post on the hardtop or on the ground, just off the edge. The house is 23ft wide. I am inclined to build the carport as wide as the space I have to work with because I would like to be able to accommodate two vehicles, next to each other and a full length pickup truck but am afraid it will look right. I want it to add value to the house. Also, I want to update the siding on the whole house. Its an old house I have been updating since I purchase it. I will try and attach a picture.

Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
Old 11-12-18, 04:41 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Welcome to the forums!

First off the supports for the carport need a footer down to the frost line, they also need to be securely anchored to the ground so that means you can't just build on top of the blacktop. Unless you have someone with experience to help you I wouldn't consider this a good first time project. Remember you also need to get a permit and pass inspection.

Old 11-19-18, 06:05 AM
I did put up an ad, locally, for assistance building this thing. I have not had any takers, yet and I have not decided what shape to build it either. I know about getting permit and all. I actually downgraded from a full two car garage, I was planning on doing. I had gotten all the permit paperwork from the county for the two car garage.

Old 11-19-18, 08:09 AM