Program garage door remotes: old and new

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-15-19, 03:41 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 48
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Program garage door remotes: old and new

Does anybody know if it is possible to use an old remote with switches for a new smart door opener. The garage door opener is a Genie 1280, which has already its smart remote programmed. However, I was wondering if I can convert my old remote with dip switches to have an extra remote.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-15-19, 09:10 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,608
Received 338 Votes on 316 Posts
Thread moved to the garage door forum.

All newer style remotes have rolling code technology.
It would be very doubtful if that old dip switch remote would work with the newer unit.
 
gciriani voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 07-16-19, 02:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 48
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for moving it to the appropriate section, and thank you for the reply.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: