Moisture Control in Workroom

Old 02-09-20, 08:58 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Moisture Control in Workroom

Hi,

Before I begin, I'm just an amateur DIYer so please forgive my ignorance.

I'm building a workroom under my backporch. The ceiling is fine but there are no walls.. I'm going to be using plywood to enclose the space. My question is whether or not it's necessary/advisable to use a layer of housewrap and OSB board? The space is unheated and I'm storing my tools in there and I don't want them to rust. Will the exterior paint be a sufficient barrier in keeping the moisture controlled?

Other notes: I'm sealing up the joints with caulking and I have already laid bricks to keep rain water from leaking into the space. I've also accounted for soffits vents.

Thanks for your time,
I really appreciate any help

Sponsored Links
Old 02-09-20, 09:15 AM
Received 72 Votes on 67 Posts
How did you seal the floor.
That is where most of your moisture will come from.

Not sure why you mention both OSB and plywood?
Yes house wrap is a good idea.

I am assuming that your porch is enclosed so you do not have to worry about moisture entering from above.

Old 02-09-20, 09:16 AM
Group Moderator
Received 303 Votes on 276 Posts
The purpose of housewrap (a WRB) is to protect the exterior of a building (bare sheathing and framing) from getting wet and rotting. Siding goes on top of the housewrap. You must be thinking of using just plywood as the siding... with no sheathing behind it.

Without knowing what you are envisioning it's hard to say. You say there are no walls. You say you are just using plywood. No studs?