Best Finish for Garage Interior

Old 04-06-20, 02:26 AM
M
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Best Finish for Garage Interior

Hi All
My wife and I are American retirees currently living in Portugal so we can travel Europe (yeah, bad timing, I know). We may move back to the States soon. When we do move back, it will be to a 1940's house we inherited several years ago and are renting out. The house is in West L.A. and has all the basic upgrades--new plumbing, roof, electrical, etc., so our improvements will be mostly aesthetic.

I'm a hobbyist woodworker and want to set up a workshop in the house's stand-alone two-car garage. Right now, its the typical mid-century unfinished garage--exposed studs and rafters, etc. I want to finish the interior walls to brighten up the inside and make it more utilitarian. Since the house is in So Cal, climate control isn't a big consideration.

I'm thinking of insulating the walls, mostly for noise control, then finishing the walls with OSB and painting it. Since its a detached garage, I don't have to use fire-rated drywall. Then I'd run new electrical in schedule 40 conduit to add some receptacles. Since its a garage, I figure conduit will save me the hassle of drilling through the studs and cutting in receptacle openings in the OSB. The OSB will allow me to drill into the walls anywhere for tool racks, etc.

Does anyone have opinions/experience with finishing garages with OSB? Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Old 04-06-20, 02:44 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 207 Votes on 184 Posts
Welcome to the forums!
OSB is fine for your walls but if you intend to paint it you'd need to use an oil base primer. That will seal the wood chips preventing tannin bleed.

Mstimc60 voted this post useful.
Old 04-06-20, 04:02 AM
M
That's a great tip--thank you Marksr!

Old 04-06-20, 05:17 AM
P
Group Moderator
Received 444 Votes on 408 Posts