Lift master Garage door trolley issue

Old 02-24-21, 11:15 AM
D
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Lift master Garage door trolley issue

I have a chamberlain lift master 1/2hp opener. I’ve set the upward and downward travel perfectly and with door not attached it seems to work fine. When I try to attach the door and open it makes a grinding sound and stops. Also does it if I attach door the up position and try to close. Coupling is good and everything appears to be fine with the mechanical aspect of the motor and drive. Any advice is much appreciated!

Last edited by drob1717; 02-24-21 at 11:38 AM.
Old 02-24-21, 11:52 AM
P
Group Moderator
Received 2,144 Upvotes on 1,920 Posts
Chamberlain makes a lot of openers. Which model do you have? Or, at least tell us if it's belt or chain drive or wall mounted.

Where is the grinding noise coming from? That would be a good place to start looking for a problem. I'm guessing it's somewhere in the power head. It could be a stripped gear or maybe the belt tension is too loose and the belt is slipping on it's sprocket.

Old 02-24-21, 12:20 PM
D
I’m sorry it’s a screw type trolley system. The grinding is the trolley itself. The tab the carrier attaches to will travel just fine along the trolley until I attached the carrier arm/door. Then it makes the grinding sound when I try to open or close. The door is balanced and moves freely manually.

Liftmaster model #2220

Old 02-24-21, 12:27 PM
D
Old 02-24-21, 02:59 PM
P
Group Moderator
First I would confirm that the carriage is completely/firmly locked onto the shaft. Don't just pull the cord in that direction but get up there and make sure the lever is fully in the locked position and not sitting partially closed.

Old 02-24-21, 03:34 PM
D