LiftMaster MyQ Power Goes Out

Old 02-17-24, 11:22 AM
O
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
LiftMaster MyQ Power Goes Out

Model:
8160W / 8160WB Contractor Series Wi-Fi Garage Door Opener

Hello, DIY beginner here, no knowledge of anything outside of the one youtube video I saw about replacing a Chamberlain garage door opener.

I have a LiftMaster MyQ that works perfectly fine, except that the power goes out after about 5 hours, and any time I have to use it I have to hit the reset button on the wall outlet, the opener powers on again, works as intended, and then powers off after about 5 hours. Rinse and repeat.

I plugged in a lamp overnight in the outlet the opener is connected to, and it remained on, did not trip anything. So I am assuming it is the opener.

My question is, what might be the issue? Would I be able to work some DIY on this current opener, or should I go and buy a replacement?

On replacements, I'm not seeing my opener (2019 model). If I were to get a newer model, I might run the risk of measurements with the current bracket being off and need a whole new unit with rails/bracket, etc.?

Old 02-17-24, 11:48 AM
Group Moderator
Received 1,924 Upvotes on 1,728 Posts
First thing I would try it to replace the gfci outlet. They don't last forever. Yours is 15 amp, TR (tamper resistant).

ozymandyas voted this post useful.
Old 02-17-24, 04:17 PM
Group Moderator
Received 3,996 Upvotes on 3,586 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

It sounds like the operator is running a program.
You'll need to download the app to modify or change it...... My Q app

Old 02-18-24, 05:48 AM
Group Moderator
Received 1,924 Upvotes on 1,728 Posts
Guess I thought the gfci was tripping.

Old 02-19-24, 02:19 AM
Received 42 Upvotes on 41 Posts