Tomatoes

Old 08-27-02, 08:37 PM
Lil' Gardener
Visiting Guest
Tomatoes

I have been gardening for many years, but this year I have a different problem. I planted 12 tomato plants - stacked them all like I always have. There were 4 different varieties. They grew like normal, I didn't fertilize them, but did water occasionally. They grew extra tall, out thru the top of my stakes, and bloomed like crazy, but have hardly produced any tomatoes. They don't even seem to be setting them on, just keep blooming.

Any suggestions?!?

Old 08-28-02, 10:38 AM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Smile Not setting Blooms

Hi Lil' Gardener Welcom to DIYs Garden forum

I have read about products like blossom set, that is said to help the flowers to stay on.

I believe that is is well researched, as to why Tomatoes do this and there's no majik spray thay can help with the many different causes.

Please do a search on (Tomato blossom drop) on the best search engine @ http://www.google.com .

Make a list and check mark every reason it happens that you can correct. Then try to correct what you can, & hope for the best. You don't sound like a beginer, so if it can be corrected you can do it. At this point you just need to know the reasons why the blossoms are dropping.

Growing can be strange at times, our all time favorite Squash with our customers, is the Tromboncino. Only this year they have Macho-itis almost all the flowers are male. You can't get a squash with a male flower.

Back to the Tomatos all ours are dying with the blight we all suffer with here in NC. So far there is no end in sight, then someday in future the Tomatos will go to frost & it will be gone until the next blight say cucumbers.