shrub advice needed

Old 08-26-02, 06:15 PM
maureenk
Visiting Guest
shrub advice needed

Hi--I just bought a home after being in a condo.

Before you enter the garage, there is a wall that is
about 3 feet high and 2 feet wide and 4 feet
long. It is full of dirt. It looks like a big planter
and is brick on the outside--with drainage at the
bottom.
It is below the overhang, but gets sun on the one
side from about 11:00am to 3:00pm.

Presently there are many, many chipmunks living
in this area. They have made it their little cabin.

I am working on getting rid of them; but need advice
as to what can be planted in this area. The overhang
is about 6 feet above the wall.

I would like to plant something that will not grow too
tall, and will fill in the space. Right now the homeowners
are constantly throwing dirt out and making a mess.

ANY SHRUB recommendations accepted. I have no experience
in this area--so instructions and names accepted with
appreciation.

The chips family thanks you also! They WILL BE moving shortly.

Maureen

Old 08-27-02, 11:55 AM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Smile What to plant?

Hi maureenk, Welcome to the DIY Garden forum

Sounds as if you have a good location for a small tree or shrubs.

To make a suggestion I will need a State or Zone. Flowers or foliage plant height etc.

Being under an eve you will have to setup a drip irigation system. A nice mulch that suits the plant will hold in water, keep the weeds out, & also make your garage look nicer

With a little more information, I can make some good suggestions.

Marturo

Old 08-27-02, 07:54 PM
maureenk
Visiting Guest
shrub advice needed

I live in New Jersey. I'm hoping you can give me the names
of something I could put in this area.

Also--what is a irrigation system?

thanks for you help!

Old 08-27-02, 10:10 PM
Smile New Jersey

Hi maureenk,

First have you thought of anything? I mean like a Kitchen herb garden, A flower bed for annuals or prenials, a small shrub.