Newbie - Flower Care Help

Old 05-25-04, 07:10 PM
willy-2003
Visiting Guest
Newbie - Flower Care Help

Hi All,

I'm new to gardening altogether, and have recently taken on the flower garden at the front of our house. We've chosen to plant perenials & so far have put in some pink & red pentas. These plants say that they require little water once established. I've been watering them once a day for the past several days. Only 2 days later, some of these plants are wilting already. Now, I'm in east Texas & we're having very warm dry weather lately. I've planted them using a 2:1 mixture of existing dirt with peat moss. Any thoughts from you plant gurus? Am I watering too much? Not enough? How do I know when they are established? Is the soil mixture right? Any & all help is appreciated.

Thanks,
-Bill

Old 05-25-04, 07:54 PM
C
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Penta is also known as Egyptian Starflower. A tough little annual that flourishes in the full sun. Feed it regularly for season-long blooms.

My guess is that the soil around the plant has air in it from planting. When you planted it, did you water it well enough for the water to make mud around the plant? This is called mudding in, it ensures that there is no air trapped in the fill.

If you are watering everyday, that is too much. Check the soil, stick your finger into it, to see if it is dry or holding moisture or is wet. This will serve as a guide for needing water. If your soil does not drain well, the plant may have wet feet. The mixture of peat and soil should have been ok for the plant. If the soil has a lot of clay in it, you may have created a bowl in the clay and the water is not percolating into the surrounding soil.

Hope this helps.

Old 05-26-04, 06:40 AM
K
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts