New garden addict

Old 06-16-04, 01:19 PM
Seragilo
Visiting Guest
Question New garden addict

I am quite new to the world of gardening but have found it to be one heck of an addiction.

I live in Zone 5 and have been looking for plant combinations for my garden. We have turned our front yard from a weed haven into a wonderful sitting area surrounded by garden. I see wonderful pictures of flower gardens where different flowers mingle with each other and I am wondering if there is a specific book out there that would help me to find suitable combinations for myself.

I have been planting flowers that I like but there is no form to my garden, just alot of different plants....while it looks lovely it is not quite what I am looking for.

Thank you for any suggestions.

Old 06-16-04, 02:27 PM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Smile A Garden

The beauty of a Garden is, there are no 2 alike. A garden takes years to develop so be patient, & add as you move different plants around when they sleep.

Never rush a garden, let it evolve & join a Garden club take garden tours & see what others are doing. You will soon see a small part of yourself in your garden but it takes time. In my case a lifetime I hope

Old 06-17-04, 03:26 AM
Seragilo
Visiting Guest
Thank you for your responce.

I guess my main question is how to plant certain plants together. I would like to have flowers showing all season long and I am not too sure how to go about it. Is it possible to plant say spring bulbs close to lilies or roses to ensure colour throughout the garden and if so, how far apart? Also, if I plant day lilies, can I plant asiatic ones so they mingle together or should they just be close by one another?

While I realize the garden look I am going for will take years to grow in all honesty, I have yet to earn my green thumb and have alot to learn.

Old 06-18-04, 05:26 AM
Seragilo
Visiting Guest
WOW!