Cheap Raised Bed garden

Old 05-30-05, 08:15 AM
Clamslayer
Visiting Guest
Cheap Raised Bed garden

Hi,
I have a easy raised bed garden plan if anyones interested. I'm new to gardening this is my 2nd year at it( I'm not an expert). I have a small house on a small lot( 82x128) that has a backyard with a southern exposure I live in southern RhodeIsland. Most of the yard is shade but some of it gets full sun. I have no idea why I started a garden, one day last March I just started turning over the soil in the sunny portion of my yard with a pitch fork and added limed to it. My girlfriend had an old mother earth organic garden book I found in the cellar that offered good garden information. I did'nt want to use chemicals in the garden so this book had an alternative method to growing veggies (and as it turn out flowers and other garden plants). I learned a raised bed will produce up to 40% more yield than a regular garden will. I'm a born and bred swamp yankee no joke, I'm a commercial Shellfisherman that has never spent a dime on anything I did'nt have to, I never throw any thing away either. I had some pressure treated 1"x10"x 16' that I scrounged at the dump in my garage I used this to build my beds. all you need to do is basically build a box with no top or bottom thats it,I used 2" deck screws to fasten it together. mine are 16 feet long by 4 feet long by 10" high. I wanted to use manure to fertilize the garden so I remembered seeing horse poop piled high at a park used by horsemen here in my state, since then I found 3 places I can get it free. I filled my beds half way up with the manure and the other half I used compost from a pile that I started a year earlier. That is it. my first year I grew 21 types of vegatables. they all grew like crazy. I gave more than half of my crop to my nieghbors cuz I had more than I could use. At the end of the year(oct.) after most of the plants had passed I removed the dirt and replaced it with manure and hay mixed together. I the