Starting plants inside

Old 03-27-06, 03:54 PM
Group Moderator
Starting plants inside

Greetings Green thumbs!

I'm going to try my hand at growing some hot chili peppers this year. We have a ton of different kinds, and I'd like to start them inside so that they will be 6" tall or so by the time I want to plant them outdoors.

In my area, all danger of frost is usually gone by May 1st. I guess my question is, when should I start the peppers? I don't want to start them too early have have them get too big before its time to plant them outdoors. I assume I'll start them in small starter packs, and assume I'll just buy some potting soil.

Also, I'm wondering if anyone has any tips on making an incubator of sorts, to keep the seedlings warm? Or if just keeping them indoors is fine. I'm a carpenter and feel like I should build a box for them with a glass lid or something. Perhaps incorporating a heat lamp or something to keep it warm and humid in there? Any thoughts on that? Good idea or not necessary? Thanks in advance for the advice.

Sponsored Links
Old 03-27-06, 07:12 PM
Start seeds 12-14 weeks before last frost date. Seeds need warm temperature, moisture, air, and light for best germination. Choose starting soil not potting soil so roots can get both air and moisture. Peat-based starting soils help prevent mold. Soil needs to be 75 - 90F, 20 - 35C with 85F or 30C ideal. You can set flats on old electric blanket that you have covered with plastic sheet. Use a test flat to allow you to adjust temperature.