Cucumber Pruning????

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-04-08, 04:56 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 7
Cucumber Pruning????

I planted cucumbers last year in my garden box that grew up a trellis and produced a significant amount of fruit. However, I had so many vines that I had vines all over the rest of the garden box and on the lawn. This year I wanted to find out if there was a recommended way to prune the vines to produce good fruit production but still allow me to not have vines everywhere.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-04-08, 11:12 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Your fruit comes from the new growth, so pruning the cukes will kill the productive part of the vine. I use either tomato cages or pieces of 4' farm field fence made into a tube for them to grow up. Having the vines climb will generally produce better fruit as they aren't touching the moist ground.
 
  #3  
Old 05-04-08, 01:32 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Maryland zone 7
Posts: 1,716
CJRBK, I agree with Chandler. You could build a trellis like this one. I've suggested this one to others who havd built them and they say it's great.
http://www.doityourself.com/stry/vegetabletrellis

Newt
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'