Why won't my Rhododendron Bloom?

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-19-08, 07:49 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Berkeley Heights
Posts: 118
Why won't my Rhododendron Bloom?

Hello All,

I have a mature Rhododendron that has been in my yard since i bought my house in 2004. I have never seen this tree bloom. Any tips on what i can do? i have tried putting coffe grinds under the tree and even tried some holly tone, but still nothing.

Any tips would be appreciated!

Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-19-08, 10:13 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Maryland zone 7
Posts: 1,716
It may not be getting enough sun or nutrition.
http://www.hancockwoodlands.ca/understanding.html
http://www.rhododendron.org/v47n4p202.htm
http://www.rhododendron.org/v46n3p141.htm
http://www.daytonnursery.com/tips/Rh...ron_Azalea.htm

Here's how to prune, which is best done within two weeks after flowering. Otherwise you will be pruning off next years flowers.
http://www.rhododendron.org/v47n2p79.htm

Once you do get flowers, pinch off the spent blooms.
http://www.rhodo.com/C-Pruning.cfm

Newt
 
  #3  
Old 05-21-08, 12:10 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 15,834
Rhododendron need at least 8 hours of sun a day. The hillside behind my mountain cabin is blanketed with rhododendron as an understory plant. Several years ago, I began to wonder why they never bloomed. Maybe I missed the blooms because I don't get there too often. I arrived when I saw other rhododendron in bloom but not mine. That's when I got out the gardening books.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'