need help with poison ivy

Old 03-17-09, 04:17 PM
need help with poison ivy

I don't know where to post this but I have a big problem with poison ivy. Its all over the wooded part of my yard. Its all ground cover and no vines. How can I get rid of it? I asked a friend and he said spray it with chlorine. I think I may want advice from someone a little more professional. Any advice?

Sponsored Links
Old 03-18-09, 04:41 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
I'm not a pro when it comes to poison ivy but I know your problem. I have a lot of poison ivy [poison oak too] on my property

I've tried bleach, fuel oil, round up and other ivy and brush killers. None of them seem to be overly effective, in fact sometimes it seems like the leaves turn brown just to emerge stronger

A neighbor I used to have bought some stuff at the feed store and sprayed around my mailbox when he sprayed at his place. It killed the ivy for 2-3 yrs. The only draw back is it cost $80 a gallon [6-7 yr ago] I don't know how much a gallon makes or if he followed directions when he mixed it. I don't remember the products name

Old 03-18-09, 05:52 AM
Poision Ivy

This stuff is tough as Mark said. Use brush killer rather than a weed killer. It takes several applications to do the job. Good luck with your project.

Old 03-18-09, 07:16 AM
Group Moderator
I like to buy glyphosate concentrate which is the main ingredient in RoundUp. If purchased from your local feed or farm supply it is much cheaper than brand name herbicides. Unfortunatley I have only found it in 2.5 gallon jugs which will last most people for many, many years.

RoundUp and other herbicides that claim to show results quickly don't seem to work as well on my posion ivy. They seem to burn/kill the leaves off before the plant is able to absorb enough poison and it often takes several applications.