Rhodidendrum Transplanting

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-17-09, 10:56 AM
5
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 36
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Rhodidendrum Transplanting

I have some Rhodees that are to close to the porch at my house I have to fix. Can I dig them up and transplant them ? They are about 5 to 6 feet tall . They have finish blomming. I would like to do it now .
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-17-09, 01:37 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
Probably so, but not at this time of year. Any transplanting of plants is best done in the dead of winter when they are dormant. You will send the plant into shock and possibly kill it by trying to move them. Being that tall, have you thought of digging them out and starting fresh with new ones in a better location? They grow wild here, so I am curious as to your situation.
 
  #3  
Old 06-19-09, 07:23 AM
5
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 36
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Replant it is

I will possible kill one or two fixing the porch. Will not be plant any new one close to house not a good idea.
 
  #4  
Old 06-24-09, 10:42 PM
N
Member
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Maryland zone 7
Posts: 1,716
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi Dennis,

Here's how to transplant Rhododendrons.
http://www.rhododendron.org/transplant.htm

Good luck with your porch project.
Newt
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: