Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Garden and Outdoor Center > Gardening and Horticulture
Reload this Page >

Fruit Trees Overwatered/Underwatered - How do I tell?

Old 09-09-09, 08:30 AM

I'm new to growing just about everything, but especially fruit trees. I have three established dwarf apricot trees, a recently planted dwarf orange tree and a recently planted fuerte avocado tree. I'm having a hard time figuring out if they're getting enough water or too much. I know the avocado and citrus trees are supposed to like to dry out some between watering, but how much? I bought a cheap moisture meter, but I'm not sure how reliable they are.

Is there a general rule of thumb that can help me tell if my trees are getting enough water or if they're getting too much?

Thanks!!

Sponsored Links
Old 09-09-09, 03:50 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Generally established trees don't need your help unless there is a drought. You should concentrate on getting soil samples to see if you have the right nutrients for what you are growing, and adjust that in order to keep them running. For the new trees, water them good once, and check the moisture after a week or so. Remember moisture stays right under the surface of the ground, so even if the ground looks dry, dig a little dirt and see the moisture. Moisture also comes to the surface every morning, so checking the moisture with your meter would be best done in the early evening.

Old 09-13-09, 01:06 PM
I'll have to admit that what I know about the specific trees and the area you live in would fit in a thimble so my answer is going to be a little generalized.