Cauliflower problems

Old 06-05-10, 08:03 PM
Group Moderator
Received 1,910 Upvotes on 1,716 Posts
Cauliflower problems

OK, so I have to say first that this is my first attempt at growing cauliflower, and it isn't going well. I bought a 6-pack of Snow Crown cauliflower and planted them around May 10 when all danger of frost was past. The pack I selected had small plants with just a tiny bit of a white curd starting to form (I wonder if this was a bad sign for such a small plant.)

Well since replanting, the plant hasn't done much of anything and it's been a month. Not many new leaves have appeared. While the broccoli I planted at the same time is now about 16" tall and going great, the cauliflower seems the same size. On a couple plants the crown is now maybe 1" across but it's been that same size for weeks. On other plants, the crown is getting these ugly "sprigs" that extend away from the tiny crown (looks like a tiny sprig of white broccoli). Having not grown it before I'm at a loss for what is going on, or if I'm just being impatient.

Before planting the ground was nicely prepared. The ground is black and rich, so I loosened the soil, mixed in peat moss, added some plant food to the watering can, and have kept the plants well watered since then. There is a 5 gallon bucket (bottoms are cut off) around each one (which I just took off today, wondering if that was the problem- maybe they were getting too hot or not enough sun or ???)

Any tips or suggestions? I'm just stunned that they aren't doing well. I wonder if the fact that they already had the beginnings of crowns while they were still so small was a bad thing. Maybe I should have purchased a pack that wasn't starting to set crowns on yet.

Old 06-15-10, 05:06 PM
Group Moderator