Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Garden and Outdoor Center > Gardening and Horticulture
Reload this Page >

Can you some how hook a soaker hose to a current pressurized sprinkler system?

Can you some how hook a soaker hose to a current pressurized sprinkler system?

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-23-12, 09:55 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Can you some how hook a soaker hose to a current pressurized sprinkler system?

Hello,
i currently have a underground pressurized sprinkler system. In the flower beds the bushes had gotten taller than the riser sprinklers. So I thought I have two options.

1. Just put a soaker in the flower bed, and hook up some type of timer at the water outlet.
2. Try to figure out how to tie soaker hoses into my current system. I replace the current PVC pipes in the flower beds with soaker hose and connect each end into the pressurized system. Is this possible with some type of pressure regulator?

i basically want to replace the larger riser pipes in the flower beds with a buried soaker hose.

any other thoughts or ideas are greatly appreciated.

thanks
kp
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-23-12, 11:43 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 44,444
You can get extensions for most of those elevated riser sprinklers but the plants get to a certain height and it's just not practical.

You can just add soaker hose in place of your risers. No regulator needed. It would probably be best to make that a dedicated soaker zone.....don't mix soaker hose and elevated sprinklers. Easy job. Get soaker hose and plastic splice fittings the same size as your lines.
 
  #3  
Old 10-24-12, 01:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Thanks.

Are you saying I can hook up a soaker into my existing system? Seems the pressure would explode the soaker....
 
  #4  
Old 10-25-12, 07:50 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hamilton County, Ohio
Posts: 4,288
Assuming that you have " normal " water pressure, a soaker attached to a separate zone will work, as PJ max said.



Woody
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'