raised bed planter for vegetable garden

Old 03-05-14, 07:38 AM
raised bed planter for vegetable garden

Hello group,
I am completely new to gardening, so apologies in advance for any dumb questions . I'd like to try my hand at creating a raised bed vegetable garden. I think technically I want to create a raised bed planter (a box with a bottom) because where I want to locate my garden is near a septic field from my backyard neighbor. I do not want any chance on contaminating the garden from the septic field. I'd like to grow things like peppers and tomatoes. That said, what depth would be recommended and are there any drainage factors I should take into account? Any advice is welcomed.

Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Old 03-05-14, 08:06 AM
Group Moderator
First I would not be concerned about any contamination from the septic. If anything it can provide nutrients and water which is why you often see grass growing better over leach fields.

If you don't think you will need to move your planter I would make it without a bottom so drainage will not be a concern. You can build one with a bottom but you will need to include numerous holes to allow for drainage.

Perhaps one of the most important things in a container or raised bed is soil depth. The deeper the better. Plants can survive in shallower depths but to thrive and have the best production they need depth. This article has a nice table on the soil depth needed for various vegetables.

My garden is raised bed and the shallowest of my beds are 16" while the others are 24". All beds have no bottom so water can drain and roots can go down into my native soil if they feel the need to go deeper than my prepared beds.

Old 03-05-14, 09:47 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
I've been using a single row of pressure treated 6 X 6", no bottom.
I notch where the pieces over lap or intersect on the outside corners and drill a 1/2 hole through the whole thing and drive 24" long 1/2 rebar in to hold everything in place.