Top Dressing for Lavender Plants?

Old 05-07-15, 11:15 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Top Dressing for Lavender Plants?

I'm a newbie to lavender, but I just planted some about a month ago and it is looking good. Planted it in 50/50 soil and sand mix along with lime/bone meal/compost amendment that I've seen recommended. Anyways, I'd like to put a top dressing down and know that mulch/bark isn't good because it holds moisture. Maybe some sort of decorative stone/gravel? Any recommendations?

Also, if someone can recommend a place in the Seattle area that you can get said top dressing, that would be great!

Sponsored Links
Old 05-07-15, 11:47 AM
Group Moderator
Received 315 Votes on 289 Posts
Generally mulch is a good choice because it holds moisture. Do you have trouble with the ground staying too wet around your lavender? Id' think with 50% sand it would drain very well.

Old 05-07-15, 12:58 PM
Thanks for the reply. I was under the impression that lavender like it pretty dry, hence the reason for having soil that drains well. Or do I want the soil moist but just not overly moist?

The bed is along side of my house (south side, plenty of sun) so when it rains it doesn't get a lot of direct rain, but the soil will get wet. There isn't a problem with the ground staying too wet, I just tilled in some sand in the top 4-6" of the soil that was there.

I just didn't want to put down mulch or bark (I have bark in everywhere else) and have it hold too much moisture.

Old 05-07-15, 06:41 PM
Group Moderator
Received 315 Votes on 289 Posts