Rooting fruit tree cuttings

Old 05-07-16, 02:07 PM
Rooting fruit tree cuttings

hi everyone,decided this year to try and grow my own fruit trees from some trees I have already,cut some cuttings from from my peach, pear and blueberry's,i trimmed a little bark off bottom of each one put some hormone rooting powder on them and put them in 2 liter bottles I cut to get cuttings in then taped them closed with potting soil that was april 16th, problem is I'm getting like white fuzzy stuff on them,"except blueberry's" does this mean cuttings died or is this normal and how can I tell if roots are actually growing without pulling them out of soil.i've never done this before so ANY help would be great. thanks jim

Sponsored Links
Old 05-07-16, 05:20 PM
Group Moderator
I would not give up at this point as there is not much you can do. Rooting woody plants takes longer than "soft" plants.

Taking cuttings from fruit trees is often a crap shoot. Many are grafted and grafted for a reason. Cuttings only contain the traits of the top stock and none of the root stock so you may not end up with what you expect.

Old 05-08-16, 03:57 PM
thanks,just doing this as a little hobby to see if I could it,i read a little bit about,i must of misunderstood some of what I read,i thought the cuttings would be a clone of the tree I took them off.ooooops. guess i'll wait and see what happens. I guess that's why some of the farmers I talked to about it told me don't waste my time just go buy some small trees in the fall when they go on sale. thanks again.

Old 05-08-16, 05:06 PM