need to know..............

Old 07-08-01, 05:11 AM
Visiting Guest
Question

Good Morning to all who read this. I am new to this site and hope someone can point me in a few good directions.

I started work at an executive golf course and am in charge of all aspects of planting and maintaining flowers. This is quite a task for me as I am no expert on flowers, infact my experience is limited to home gardening.

I recently spent a bundle of money for annuals and and realized how much money I could save in the long run if I could have grown these flowers myself from seed. I know the intial investment for some type of greenhouse and the materials I would need to start flowers from seed would be more than what I just spent but in the long run I feel it may pay off. Before I present my "grand plan" to my superintendant, I want to be armed with the right information and know what I am talking about.......not just wasting his time.

Would anyone know about or know a site or a person who I could talk to where I can find out the following information.......how to grow flowers from seed.....on a big scale...(500-800 plants a season...I personally consider this "big", others may not!!) what I need to do, what kind of planting material do I use, where I can buy the seeds, plastic containers, what kind of watering system I would need, how I could I build a really simple yet effective greenhouse? And anything else I need to know to make this work!

Thanks in advance to all who can point me in the right direction!

Sponsored Links
Old 07-09-01, 07:28 AM
Visiting Guest
Sounds like you have an exciting project ahead of you.