Re: Seeds

Old 01-08-02, 09:42 AM
Lightbulb Re: Seeds

Hello 2002! I'm a newbie gardener & wonder does anyone have any seeds or know where to find seeds that have a tolerance level for newbie's.

I'm planning on planting a food producing garden with items such as, Veggies, fruit, and even grains. If anyone does have any, I'll be more than willing to reimburse for postage.

Thanx

Sponsored Links
Old 01-08-02, 02:50 PM
Hey Quark!
If you go to www.johnnyseeds.com, they have a great selection of seeds. Also, your local nursery or hardware store should have a selection of seeds packs as well, One of the stores here in Rhode Island already has packets of sunflower seeds out on display.

Youve picked a great place to come for advice. We are all happy to help.

Eric

Gami, you want to take it from here with the links?!

Old 01-08-02, 04:11 PM
Hi Quark

Gami, I'm going to let you tell Quark about the Seed Swap at Sierra, I think Twelvepole and Bomber are getting tired of me sending people there!!!

(Quark, if you want a head start, check SwEetAnGl's First Time Gardener thread...)

Howie

Old 01-09-02, 01:33 AM
Howie,
Im not tired of you sending people there - Im registered there also.

Eric

Old 01-09-02, 03:26 AM
Gami
Visiting Guest
Hi Quark,

The only seeds I have are pumpkins and acorn squash. Let me know if you want some. If you buy your seeds locally, they should carry the varieties that will do well for your area, but Johnnies is an excellent place to order seeds.

I can't think of any plant that is really difficult to grow. Zucchini is suspectible to the squash vine borer. One day your plant will be healthy, and the next day it's sprawled all over the ground, but well worth growing if you like it.

What kind of fruit do you want? Most fruit is best started by plants or small shrub starts. Strawberries are very easy to grow. They should also be available at your nursery this spring. If you order them, they will send them at the time you should be able to plant.