Plant identification and habits...???

Old 06-15-02, 06:49 PM
chadtoolio
Visiting Guest
Question Plant identification and habits...???

I am just getting into the whole gardening and yard beautification thing and am having some trouble..

The other day I was fertilizing some of my hibiscus and decided to fertilize some rose cuttings I am rooting as well. The fertilizer was for acid loving plants and I soon found out that roses do not love acid.LOL Boo-Hoo

My delimma is that I would like to know how to properly care for my plants but am having trouble finding a book on the subject that covers it.

I need help with:

Plant id tips
feeding habits(npk), or other feeding habits
zone hardiness
flowering times
propagation methods

The more info the better...

Don't mind spending the money on the book if it has useful info!

Old 06-15-02, 10:49 PM
N
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Welcome to the wonderful world of gardening! You may find it difficult to find one book that will give you all the info you are looking for. One book that I have found to be useful is 'The Well Tended Perennial Garden'. I can't remember the name of the author. Martha Stewart put out a book several years ago that I got from the library that was very well done, with the bloom time and colors of many plants. I don't remember the name, but I'm sure a search at the library would help. I think the book was published in the late 70's or early 80's.

My suggestion would be to go to the library and take a look at the garden section. Start leafing through some and see which ones you like. I use several for plant id. There aren't too many that have an encyclopedia in them with all the plants you might be interested in.