Rheem HWH Flammable Vapor Sensor lockout w/Honeywell valve won't re-set

Closed Thread

  #1  
Old 08-30-11, 09:25 PM
boilersrus's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 313
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Rheem HWH Flammable Vapor Sensor lockout w/Honeywell valve won't re-set

I have a Rheem HWH with an inducer mounted on top. The Natural Gas valve is a Honeywell and I am getting 7 flashes on the LED which is a "FVS Lockout". The model number is 43VP50E2. The unit is only 6 months old and was originally installed at another location. It worker at the first house but has never worked at the second house. The pilot and blower used to come on at the second house but nothing goes on any more. How does the FVS get reset on this unit with the Honeywell valve? I have already tried what it says in the 'manual'. I just replaced the FVS with a NEW ONE. Same problem.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-30-11, 09:34 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,891
Received 24 Votes on 22 Posts
Hi,

I need to look at the manual but possibly you can tell me what the manual says?

Typically they require you to perform several functions to reset this.

Example: The AO smith units you need to power off, and hold the two temp buttons with in 10 seconds of turning the unit back on. Then when the light starts flashing, release then press both buttons again until the light is solid. Then the gas valve resets.

Did you paint or something near the water heater. This is the common cause. People varnish or paint and the sensor trips. It will continue to trip until the vapors clear.

Mike NJ
 
  #3  
Old 08-30-11, 09:42 PM
boilersrus's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 313
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I am NOT the home owner but I was told that the lady did use 'powerful' cleaning stuff like Clorox and cleaners in the basement trying to get rid of the mold. Also I was told that there was an oil smell, probably from the oil tank or the oil-fired boiler for quite some time. I did not do the installations on any of the equipment. Truthfully, this is the very first unit with a FVS that I have ever seen. The on-line manual basically says to shut off the power for a few seconds and to power it back up. If the error code continues to replace the sensor---which is what I did. The home owner does NOT have the original manual so I had to look it up on-line. Any help would be greatly appreciated. (The on-line manuals available give quite a bit of help for the White-Rogers valve but not for the same heater using Honeywell controls.)
 
  #4  
Old 08-30-11, 09:49 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,891
Received 24 Votes on 22 Posts
You need to give me a few minuts to read the docs I found. Some units I think had or have a diaphram door of somesort. Once it closes it cuts it off. A kit is needed. But I am also reading the heater needs replacement. But that may be the older models.

So give me a few.

Mike NJ
 
  #5  
Old 08-30-11, 09:58 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,891
Received 24 Votes on 22 Posts
I would say if its the gas valve with 7 lights its a intellivent type gas valve.

Page 32 here. Is that the gas valve? Is the code the last one. First light and C?

http://globalimageserver.com/fetchDo...7-68361b8fb515

Mike NJ
 
  #6  
Old 08-30-11, 10:33 PM
boilersrus's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 313
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
7 blinks---NOT seven lights. It is the Honeywell model. The one with all the lights is the WR model.
 
  #7  
Old 08-30-11, 10:40 PM
boilersrus's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 313
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
7 BLINKS is lockout for the FVS lockout. We changed the sensor and tried almost everything to get it out of lockout. What a mystery!
 
  #8  
Old 08-30-11, 10:43 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,891
Received 24 Votes on 22 Posts
Yesh. Its got the door on the bottom that closes. There is a kit that is needed I believe.

http://globalimageserver.com/fetchDo...4-a13e1089c764

No gas?

Mike NJ
 
  #9  
Old 08-30-11, 10:52 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,891
Received 24 Votes on 22 Posts
Line 17 here.

17. Can the thermal release device be replaced or reset? Answer: No. If the unit trips the thermal release
device for any reason we want to be aware of it. It means combustion chamber temperatures exceeded what
we consider to be normal. The water heater must be replaced.


http://waterheating.rheem.com/conten...eries/1418.pdf

Now we need to find out if this is a seperate item from the sensor itself. Meaning does the vapor sensor trip this device?

I say this because from what I read the door that closes activates on high combustion temps. A glass viale breaks and shuts the door.

The vapor sensor when tripped should shut down the gas valve but it should be resettable.

So as long as that door is still open you should be able to reset. I am still looking around.

Mike NJ
 
  #10  
Old 08-30-11, 10:53 PM
boilersrus's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 313
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I will check tomorrow about the shutter 'fuse'. (for lack of a better word) I have worked on these type of shutters before and usually the pilot makes an 'attempt to light' but since the shutter is closed it only stays on for 10 seconds or so. This unit is not even making an attempt to start and the blower is not even pre-purging. Thanks. Will let you know what I see. Charlie
 
  #11  
Old 08-30-11, 11:15 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,891
Received 24 Votes on 22 Posts
OK found this.

you can reset the control by unplugging the blower during start up, leave unplugged for at least 5 seconds, plug back in and within 30 seconds cycle temp control from hot to low 6 times.

This is all I got. Try it.

Like I said every gas valve has a reset procedure. The trick is finding what it is. I was AO smith rep so I know that code.

The reason they dont tell you is because they charge like $200 plus just to perform a reset.

Well Rheem is off my list. I also read Bradford white HWH have this technology also.

I will stick with the AO smith units. They dont have the door, Its a resettable button. And the reset for the AO smiths is described in my previous post.

Let me know. If it works I want to add to my documents.

Mike NJ
 
  #12  
Old 08-31-11, 06:59 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: united states
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have juust regstered on this site and am not fully aware if I am posting an inquiry or repsponding to a question already asked. I have a situation with a State Select Power vent hot water heater Model S GS640YBV1T100. The unit was installed 3 weeks ago. It was floded out in 8 inches of water . It will not start no fan gas valve will not open gas valve reads green light at warm setting and yellow light at hoh setting. Can this system be reset? do I have to replace the vapor sensor?
 
  #13  
Old 08-31-11, 08:50 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,891
Received 24 Votes on 22 Posts
Post # 2 is the reset for the state with the intellivent control. You may need a new sensor since it got wet. You can try disconnecting it and let it air out. It may work.

The sensors usually get tested with a multimeter. I used to take them outside in the sun for awhile. Might work. Swing it around in the air????

But you should call AO smith and find the rep in your area. They may replace the part and reset for you under warranty, even though it was under water.

I used to do anywork under warranty even if it was not a defect. As long as the S/N was right AO smith paid me $150 for 2 hours. 2 hours is the average time to fix any part of a water heater under warranty.

But then again I know the old corderite disk FVIR water heaters had to be replaced if under water.

Input your info here. Click on water heater info at to of page when it opens.

https://warranty.hotwater.com/default.aspx

Let us know.

Mike NJ
 
  #14  
Old 07-01-14, 03:33 AM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up Solved for Rheem AP15712A

I have Rheem AP15712A thermostat.
AP15712A - Rheem AP15712A - Gas Control - NG - 24VAC

I got Flammable vapor lockout and vented FV part for hours. I tested its resistance and it was 80K ohms--right in proper range of 70,000 to 1,700,000 ohm). I knew the unit needed a reset.

As you can see from the picture there is no reset button, no left/right buttons, just on/off switch and temp dial. I scoured the internet for reset procedure, and this was the only thread I found! Of course manual said nothing about resetting.

Thank you to lawrosa!!:
"you can reset the control by unplugging the blower during start up, leave unplugged for at least 5 seconds, plug back in and within 30 seconds cycle temp control from hot to low 6 times."
Although my unit has no blower (just exhaust flue), this was enough of a hint for me to figure out reset:
Switch Off. Switch On. (probably within 30 seconds of doing that you need to do following): I cycled temp from Full Hot to cold. It was around the 4th or 5th cycle of turning temp dial to Hot/Cold that it reset. I spent 6-8 hours today testing resistance of the FV sensor with my multimeter, output voltages of thermostat, and various other things... and the solution took 5 seconds!
Thanks lawrosa!!! even though this isn't exactly for my product you saved me $200+ ...not to mention several days of increasingly potent body odor!
 
  #15  
Old 07-01-14, 06:24 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,891
Received 24 Votes on 22 Posts
Thanks for the additional reply jee916... Welcome to the forums....

Since this is an old thread I will close it. If anyone needs further assistance please start a new thread...

Thanks..
 
Closed Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: