Help with DIY Pool Heater Idea

Old 05-18-18, 07:32 AM
B
Received 5 Upvotes on 4 Posts
Help with DIY Pool Heater Idea

First I apologize if I've posted this in the wrong place.

I have a small inflatable 1,500 gallon pool that I'd like to make a DIY propane heater for. I've read about this idea a few places and finally picked up a free gas grill to try it out on.

This is the general concept. Run some pool water through a manifold like this with the grill cover closed and propane gas running. Not something I'd run all the time as Id assume it uses alot of propane to raise the temp.

I'm not a professional, just a home DIY'er looking for a fun project. I've read posts online about heat exchange. Not looking to build the perfect, most efficient model but want it to work (raise the pool a few degrees so my wife gets in) and be safe.

Thoughts?

Attached Images  
Old 05-18-18, 08:04 AM
P
Group Moderator
Received 2,144 Upvotes on 1,920 Posts
My father built something similar for our pool when I was a child except it was wood fired and used steel piping. It worked quite well.

First some words on safety.

There is a reason all steam showers, water heaters and boilers have temperature and pressure safety relief valves. Steam explosions are extremely dangerous.

Do NOT install valves on the lines running to/from the heat coil. It could be extremely dangerous if the grill were operated with the valves closed so it's safer to not have valves.

Be careful with the amount of coils, the amount of heat you put to them and how much water flows through the heat exchanger. You MUST keep enough water flowing through the heat exchanger so the water can NEVER boil or turn to steam. It is possible to put in enough heat that it generates steam and the pipe with all it's restriction can not let the steam escape fast enough causing the pipe to burst or explode.

---