Water heater problem

Old 01-02-03, 07:00 AM
MARogers
Visiting Guest
Question Water heater problem

I've noticed recently when showering that I've been running out of hot water more quickly than I should. Is there some sort of maintenance I need to perform that could remedy this problem? Or, do I need a new heating element? Or...?

Old 01-02-03, 05:10 PM
Admin Emeritus
Upvotes: 0
Received 7 Upvotes on 6 Posts
Hello MARogers

If the water heater is electric, one of the heating elements may be burned out or not functioning. I am not a pro on electric water heaters. I can move your question to the correct forum if I knew the energy source used by the tank.

It's also possible the tank need a flushing. Flushing instructions are located within already asked question pertaining to water heaters within this forum. Search back in the already asked questions.

It's also possible the dip tube inside the tank is damaged, defective or broken. The dip tube is a tube inserted into the tank in the cold waters inlet. If it is damaged, etc it can cause the problem you described and have.

Another possibility is the incoming water is much colder in winter and diloutes the hot water faster then in summer when the incoming water is warmer. If this is the only problem, showering quicker helps dramatically........

Regards & Good Luck. Gas Appliances Forum Moderator.
Web Site Host & Multiple Topics Moderator.
Tom_Bart......Company Enterprises.....TCB4U2B2B
Energy Conservation Consultant & Natural Gas Appliance Diagnostics Technican.

Old 01-03-03, 05:37 AM
MARogers
Visiting Guest
Talking Water Heater Problem

Thanks Tom. All of that makes sense. Actually, I have a gas water heater. Would that make a difference in your response?

Old 01-03-03, 06:27 AM
Admin Emeritus
Upvotes: 0
Received 7 Upvotes on 6 Posts
Hello: MA