Furnace Delayed Ignition

Old 01-22-03, 06:39 PM
dilly
Visiting Guest
Unhappy gas furnace / water heater

Hello, this is my first time posting..

My husband and I bought a condo 4 months ago and it is supplied with gas furnace / water heater.

When we turned the heat on in November I noticed "banging" noises once in awhile but since this is our first house I've tried to be open minded to strange noises.

But lately it's been REALLY disconcerting. We had someone look at it who immediately turned off the furnace and said we couldn't use it until the gas company had inspected it. ugh! it's very cold here..anyway since then another repairman has come and spent some time with it and gave us the go ahead to use it. BUT...the banging noise continues.

It's only 4 years old at the most. I don't want to overreact but we are talking "gas" here.

Any ideas? and what is the worst that can happen should we just accept it as life with a gas furnace?

Sorry for the wordy message..

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Old 01-23-03, 06:20 PM
Admin Emeritus
Received 5 Votes on 4 Posts
Hello dilly. Welcome to my Gas Appliances topic & the Do-It-Yourself Web Site.

Noises are for you very difficult to explain and equally as difficult for me to diagnose without being there first hand. Since that's not possible, I will need to know what type of noise and an overall better description.

What I first need to know is exactly when the noise happens. At furnace startup or constantly during it's operation? Is the noise a rumble, squeal or an explosion sound?

Keeping in mind that I may not be able to exactly disgnose the source of the noise nor provide a correction for it. I have to rely on a licensed service persons judgement.

You mentioned quote "someone" looked at it and truned it off. You mentioned a repairman gave you the okay to use it. All very common in the industry. No two persons often agree unless the problem is very obvious. Who where these people????