Gas Furnace Noise

Old 12-29-03, 02:21 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Gas Furnace Noise

Just noticed today that my approximately 10 year old Lennox Model # GD1-55-3 is making a squealing noise when it is running. The noise is coming from the lower compartment of the unit. So far, it isn't real loud...intermittent...comes and goes.

I assume it is the blower motor--either the belt is slipping or the motor is seizing up? If either one is the case, how long can I let this go? (the reason I ask is because it is Dec. 29th and getting a repair guy in now would be expensive)

Can I just lubricate something? Are there some temporary measures I can take? If the motor is seizing, will the belt just break or is there a risk of fire?

Don't mean to sound too cautious but I've never done any repairs on a furnace before, mainly because I have a healthy respect for things that have flames shooting through them & could potentially go BOOM!

Assuming I get through the holidays, is it worth repairing a dinosaur like this? (I may have too because we are always broke around here ;-)

Chris

Sponsored Links
Old 12-29-03, 06:56 PM
Admin Emeritus
Received 5 Votes on 4 Posts
Hello: Chris. Welcome to my gas appliances topic.

May just be a belt or motor bearings in need of some oil. Unplug the unit from the power electrical source or turn off the electrical breaker to it.

Remove that lower blower front panel. The motor should be right there in front. Beneath it the filter. Remove the filter. Unplug blower motor and remove the two tiny screws which hold the blower motor and cage assembly.

Pull out the cage assembly. Clean as needed. Look for oiling holes or oiling caps on the ends of the motor. If you find them, add a few drops of 3 in 1 oil or any type of motor oil that is handy.

Some motors have caps which must be lifted to add oil while some are just holes. Few drops of any type oil works wonders. One that is completed, reinstall and secure exactly as found.