Kenmore Gas Dryer Problem

Old 01-17-05, 10:31 AM
ptlmchuck107
Visiting Guest
Kenmore Gas Dryer Problem

I have a 2 and a half year old Kenmore gas dryer. I have had no problems with it up until now. When I press the start button, the dryer will start up. But as soon as I take my finger off the start button, it stops. I thought it might be something wrong with the starter. I stopped in at a local appliance repair place and he thinks it's a problem with the motor. ?????? I'm no mechanical whiz-kid so before I pay for a new motor (plus installation) I'd like to get some other opinions. I rigged a contraption to hold the start button down for now, since the dryer is running as good as the day I bought it. Anybody have any ideas? Thanks.

Old 01-17-05, 04:38 PM
themechanix
Visiting Guest
uhmmm

im just a commercial gas appliance repair guy but i would jump the start button first and probably find that it is faulty and save lots of headaches and 100's of dollars! just my opinion though. p.s. to jump the button first disconnect the dryer from power source, next find your way inside the housing that contains start button then look for probably two spade terminals that are on back of button and pull them off then connect a piece of heavy guage wire between terminals and assure that no connections are touching the dryer! reconnect power supply and if dryer runs constantly you have troubleshot your appliance repair like a pro! check back if that doesnt help.

Last edited by themechanix; 01-17-05 at 04:52 PM. Reason: more specific advice
Old 01-17-05, 05:37 PM
themechanix
Visiting Guest
additionally

a continuity test on the button would perform same test but that requires an ohm meter and an assistant to press button if you believe that to be easier!

Old 01-17-05, 06:00 PM
Admin Emeritus
Upvotes: 0
Received 7 Upvotes on 6 Posts
Hello ptlmchuck107. Welcome to my Gas Appliances topic and the Do-It-Yourself Web Site.