Installation Of Gas Range/oven

Old 09-12-05, 08:11 AM
fadilz
Visiting Guest
Question Installation Of Gas Range/oven

I recently purchased a maytag gas stove to replace my existing stove. The new stove is about 6 years old, but never used ( still in original wrap). What are the steps to removing the old and replacing the new stove ? Are there any additional issues I should be aware of due to the age of the new stove ?

I'm a novice, but I'll try anything one or even twice ?

Old 09-12-05, 05:13 PM
Admin Emeritus
Upvotes: 0
Received 7 Upvotes on 6 Posts
Hello fadilz and Welcome to the Do It Yourself Web Site and my Gas Appliances topic.

What kind of gas? Natural or propane???

If you have hand tools and are handy using them, turn off the gas supply. Should be a shut off valve on the gas supply line behind the existing appliance. Disconnect the gas supply tube or line at the shut off valve.

Install the new appliance using a new flex gas tube and parts. Do not use any existing old parts if possible. Will need far more specific and detailed info as to what is already there connected to the current stove and fuel type.

If the appliance is using natural gas, replace the existing flex, with the newest type of stainless steel flex line. May have to also replace the existing shut off valve to match the new flex natural gas tube.

Also required will be the replacement of both adapter ends of the flex line. The adapter ends are the male/female ends the connector attaches to.

In most cases, one end of the connector is attached to a shut-off valve installed on the supply gas feed pipe exiting the wall behind the appliance.

The replacement of this shut-off valve will most likely be required when replacing the existing connector and upgrading to the newest type of stainless steel connector.