Magic Chef blinking Lock light


  #1  
Old 07-21-06, 05:13 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Magic Chef blinking Lock light

I have a MAgic Checf gas oven model CGR3742CDW that when hitting the "bake" or any other button on the display, nothing happens except the "lock" light blinks at you until you clear it. The lockout for safety is a big "OFF" on the display so it is not that.

Any clues??

Thanks to all
 
  #2  
Old 07-21-06, 05:21 PM
DaVeBoy's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,565
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Could your temp setting at the time be way up into the self clean range, that would call for the oven to lock?
 
  #3  
Old 07-21-06, 05:30 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
the magic chef blinking lock light

I'm not sure, this happens before anything comes on or the gas starts up or anything. it is like the display is locked out....except the clear button, that works fine to clear the code . any button of baking use for the oven just blinks the lock light
 
  #4  
Old 07-21-06, 05:45 PM
DaVeBoy's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,565
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Could you tell us the procedure you have to go through with pushing buttons when you first approach the cold stove/oven and want to use it? What do you push first, second, etc.?
 
  #5  
Old 07-21-06, 07:13 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
that magic blinking light

no problem.....under normal circumstances, it is as simple as pressing the "bake" button, then hitting the up/down arrow keys to desired baking temperature......

now if you hit the "bake" button to start the procedure, you get the magic blinking light next to the "lock" text on the console...
 
  #6  
Old 07-22-06, 06:44 AM
Sharp Advice's Avatar
Admin Emeritus
Join Date: Feb 1998
Location: The Shake and Bake State USA
Posts: 9,927
Upvotes: 0
Received 7 Upvotes on 6 Posts
Hello Donfri. Welcome to my Gas Appliances topic.

Shut off the electrical supply or remove plug from electrical wall outlet. Allow 5 minutes to pass, then restore electrical power. Doing this may or may not reset computer board.

If the problem seems resolved, may be true. However, problem may return upon first attempt to use oven. Worth a try. Main board may have a conflict between two different cycles. Removing the power may reset the board back to original settings.

If that does not resolve the problem, it may exist on the board, at the lock device, on the touch pad or in the main circuit board.

A local appliance parts store personnel may know of the problem with that brand and model. May help provide the solution in order to sell the needed part. Some retail appliance parts stores offer this type of help while others may not. Worth a try.

Also try contacting the manufacturers help line on the phone. Contact info in the sticky help note within this forum topic where you posted the question. Also has additional help and suggestions to resolve some problems like these, etc.

Cautionary Reminder Note:
Before attempting any repairs, be sure to unplug the appliance from the wall receptacle power source first.

Help Link: Range-Stove-Oven-Broiler Basic Help Information & Manufacturers Web Sites: http://forum.doityourself.com/showthread.php?t=159808

Use the reply button to add additional information or questions. Using the reply button keeps or moves the topic back up to the top of the list automatically and keeps all communications on this subject in one thread.

Web Site Host, Moderator Hiring Agent, Gas Appliances Topic Moderator, Multiple Forums Moderator & Natural Gas Appliance Diagnostics Technician.

Personal Driving Safety Reminder: Buckle Up & Drive Safely.
"The Life You Save, May Be Your Own."
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: