Jennair gas cooktop burners have low flame and low heat

Old 05-03-07, 07:10 AM
R
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Jennair gas cooktop burners have low flame and low heat

Hi,
I have a Jennair gas cooktop that came with the house that we purchased it 4 years ago. Ever since we moved in I noticed that the burners had low flame/ low heat than the stoves I used before. What took me 30 mins to cook on my other stoves takes over 2 hours on this one..Since the cooktop was brand new, I did call Jennair technician and he didn't have a clue. Is it normal for Jennair to behave this way or perhaps, the gas flow to the burner is low. I am not sure. I am a novice at all this and don't know where to even begin. earlier on, I had read the manual and loosened the screws on the burners but that didn't help either. Please help

Last edited by Rirag; 05-03-07 at 07:12 AM. Reason: Change the heading to a more meaningful one
Old 05-03-07, 08:13 AM
Admin Emeritus
Received 7 Upvotes on 6 Posts
Hello Rirag. Welcome to the Gas Appliances topic and the Do-It-Yourself Web Site.

Older stoves/ranges did have larger burners and bigger flames. New ones have smaller burners and smaller flames. A reflection of the times. Todays modern life styles are far different from those of years ago when everything had to be cooked from raw foods.

Todays life styles are different. We have far more prepared foods, microwaves, etc. And families now a days do not always have meals together. Plus we have energy conservation to consider.

Therefore, the newer appliances reflect these changes. Not likely anything wrong with your stove. You just may have to adjust your cooking styles and times. Often takes modern cooking pots and pans designed for todays new appliances, etc.