Gas Cooktop Venting


  #1  
Old 09-21-07, 10:01 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 116
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Gas Cooktop Venting

does a gas cooktop need to be vented outside?
I know in our old house we had a gas range and there was a range hood but the range hood did not vent outside. In our current house we are thinking of switching out our electric cooktop and running gas and putting in a gas one. We have a microwave above the cooktop that has a blower is that sufficient enough. does the blower need to be on everytime you cook?
Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 09-21-07, 10:56 AM
mattison's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinti, OH
Posts: 5,315
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
In the U.S. residential cooktops do not have to be vented to the outdoors. It's great idea to do it though. I don't care for the recirculators cause I blacken steaks on the stove and that recirculator don't do a thing for that smoke.
 
  #3  
Old 09-21-07, 11:07 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 116
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
thanks, just wondering where the carbon monoxide goes from a gas cooktop if all you have is a recirculating blower above it
 
  #4  
Old 09-21-07, 11:14 AM
mattison's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinti, OH
Posts: 5,315
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
As long as it's burning properly and your just using it for cooking and not to heat your house there's not enough produced to cause a problem.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: