Whirlpool gas dryer


  #1  
Old 08-06-09, 10:52 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Whirlpool gas dryer

HELP! I have a whirlpool gas dryer and it is not heating, what do I do?
 
  #2  
Old 08-06-09, 02:13 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 8,161
Received 77 Upvotes on 70 Posts
post model # so we can see which dryer you have
 
  #3  
Old 08-06-09, 03:30 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
model number LGR6848AW2

The model number is LGR6848AW2. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
 
  #4  
Old 08-07-09, 04:29 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 8,161
Received 77 Upvotes on 70 Posts
unplug dryer first
Here is where to start. part # 7 is the thermo fuse.
WHIRLPOOL | Model #LGR6848AW2 | GAS DRYER | BULKHEAD | SearsPartsDirect.com
Should have continuity (closed) you have to take back off dryer to check. let us know how it's going. Does fryer turn on at all?
 
  #5  
Old 08-12-09, 06:44 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: sw sub chicago
Posts: 1,063
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
my 13 yo whirlpool quit heating years back. the thermal switch had a broken connection =REALLY cheap/small rivet = put in nut/bolt = fine ever since.

i am now back. beacuse it again, stopped heating. the switch is fine still. its something else.

whirlpool = pos.
 
  #6  
Old 08-13-09, 03:14 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 8,161
Received 77 Upvotes on 70 Posts
post model #, first ckeck door switch and thermo fuse.
 
  #7  
Old 08-13-09, 07:22 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: sw sub chicago
Posts: 1,063
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
i misspoke. not thermal switch. flame switch.

anyway. after posting, i found the HOW TO. it said that when turned on, the igniter should start to glow. mine does not.

LGR7646EQO

our (wife and i only) machines don't get a lot of use, about 3 loads a week.
 
  #8  
Old 08-15-09, 02:04 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 8,161
Received 77 Upvotes on 70 Posts
Need ohm meter to ck. Will show a closed circuit ( open is bad)
 
  #9  
Old 08-16-09, 08:06 AM
C
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: sw sub chicago
Posts: 1,063
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
just checked it. looks good. meter showed around 70ish ohms. whats next ? thanx
 
  #10  
Old 08-17-09, 03:33 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 8,161
Received 77 Upvotes on 70 Posts
have been out of town, just got back while you have dryer open ohm gas coils and the flame sensor. All should show a circuit coils will have a higher reading than sensor. If all show circuits take back off and check thermo fuse.
 
  #11  
Old 08-17-09, 07:29 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: sw sub chicago
Posts: 1,063
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
ok. i found my problem.

on the back exhaust vent. there is a white thermal switch, bout 1 1/2" long and 1/2" wide. 2 prong. i disconneted the 2 terminals and taped em together. the heat started working.

thanx Beer 4U2

now, i gotsa git 1, fur my wife drives me crazy.
 
  #12  
Old 08-18-09, 03:33 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 8,161
Received 77 Upvotes on 70 Posts
That is the thermo fuse, get it replaced and clean vent to outside or you will be be doing it again.
 
  #13  
Old 08-18-09, 07:06 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: sw sub chicago
Posts: 1,063
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
the vents to the outside are cleaned by a company every year. per the condo ass.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: