gas oven does not work but broiler does

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-03-10, 05:26 AM
M
mik
mik is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 224
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
gas oven does not work but broiler does

Our gas oven wouldn't start yesterday but the broiler still works. Is there a way that I can discover which part to replace first - the oven igniter, the thermostat or the temperature sensor? (so I don't waste money buying & replacing all three needlessly)
Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-03-10, 05:40 AM
Sharp Advice's Avatar
Admin Emeritus
Join Date: Feb 1998
Location: The Shake and Bake State USA
Posts: 10,398
Received 5 Votes on 4 Posts
Hello mik. Welcome to the Gas Appliances topic.

Remove the broiler HSI and install it in the oven. If that allows the oven to work, the HSI that was in the oven is defective. Least expensive and easiest part to replace and one that most often resolves the problem described.

Purchase a new HSI for the broiler and install it in the broiler. Job done.....

Beer 4U2
 
  #3  
Old 05-03-10, 05:53 AM
M
mik
mik is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 224
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks but I'm a simple DIY-er and not sure what an "HSI" is- is that the oven igniter?

Also- you said, "Purchase a new HSI for the broiler and install it in the broiler. Job done...."
-do I NEED to replace the broiler ignitor even though the broiler still works fine?

Thanks again.
 
  #4  
Old 05-03-10, 12:22 PM
M
mik
mik is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 224
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I went & bought a replacement oven ignitor (via a local aplliance part distributor)and that did the job; oven bakes fine now & I didn't need to replace the broil ignitor.
 
  #5  
Old 05-04-10, 05:46 AM
Sharp Advice's Avatar
Admin Emeritus
Join Date: Feb 1998
Location: The Shake and Bake State USA
Posts: 10,398
Received 5 Votes on 4 Posts
The intent was to use the broiler igniter (HSI) in the oven and install the new HSI in the broiler. If the oven worked with the broilers HSI we would then know it was the HSI causing the problem. It would be a "TEST" to determine the cause.

Since an oven is used more often, in many instances, installing a new HSI in the broiler and installing the used HSI in the oven, the new HSI in the broiler would be used less and saved for the next HSI failure occurrence. Get the logic here.
 
  #6  
Old 06-03-10, 07:37 AM
M
mik
mik is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 224
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks Sharp but I never got any response to my question about what an, "HSI" was, so that's why I just went to my local parts distributor & he explained what the term meant. I got the part I needed and the matter is resolved so thanks
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: